+ - reset
English (UK)Italian (IT)

International Radio Symposium

November 9th, 2009
The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm

celebrating the centenary of the Nobel Prize in Physics 1909

On November 9th, 1909, the Royal Academy of Sciences (RSAS) decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics to Karl Ferdinand Braun and Guglielmo Marconi for their contributions to the development of wireless telegraphy.

Introduction by Prof. Svante Lindqvist, President of RSAS
Harry Frank, chairman of the Academy 's Class of Engineering sciences and SNRV chairman
Gerhard Kristensson
Karl Grandin, Director of the Centre of History of Science at RSAS: The awarding process
Gabriele Falciasecca, University of Bologna, President of the Marconi Foundation: Guglielmo Marconi (keynote)
Lars-Erik Wernersson, University of Lund: Three centuries of solid state electronic components
ancient and modern radio equipment on show
Hans Olofsson, Director of the Onsala Space Observatory: Swedish Radio Astronomy
Joakim F Johansson, RUAG Space AB: The early days of radio, Ernst F W Alexanderson and Grimeton radio station SAQ, Unesco World Heritage
Gudmund Wannberg, Swedish Institute of Space Physics (IRF): Swedish space radio science
Östen Mäkitalo: Mobile telephony in a historic and future perspective
Werner Wiesbeck, University of Karlsruhe: Karl Ferdinand Braun (keynote)

The symposium was arranged by the Swedish National Committee of URSI (Union Radio-Scientifique Internationale) at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.











accademia svezia


museomarconi logo

© 2013 - Fondazione Guglielmo Marconi - Villa Griffone - via Celestini 1 - 40037 Pontecchio Marconi (BO) - C.F 80063250379

We use cookies to make sure you can have the best experience on our website. Continuing in the navigation, you agree to our cookies policy.