+ - reset
English (UK)Italian (IT)

Marconi Symposium

October 8th, 2009
Biagi Auditorium, Sala Borsa, Bologna


The five Young Scholar award winners are: Sébastien Soudan, École Normale Supérieure de Lyon; Marco Papaleo, University of Bologna; Eric Plum, Optoelectronics Research Centre (ORC), University of Southampton; Eitan Yaakobi, University of California at San Diego’s Jacobs School of Engineering; and Felix Gutierrez, Jr., University of Texas, Austin.

Rafael Pinaud Laufer - Novel Routing Paradigms for Wireless Multihop Networks
Salman Abdul Baset - Peer to Peer Communication
Felix Gutierrez, Jr. - 60 GHz Communication: A New Era of Connectivity
Marco Papaleo - Packet Level Coding using LDPC Convolutional Codes
Eric Plum - Metamaterials: The next photonic revolution
Sébastien Soudan - Bandwidth Sharing and Control in High-Speed Networks: Combining Packet and Circuit-Switching Paradigms
Eitan Yaakobi - Coding for Flash Memories


October 9th, 2009
San Filippo Neri Oratory, Bologna


This year's Marconi prize goes to Andrew Chraplyvy and Robert Tkach, a pair of Bell Labs scientists whose work on fiber optic nonlinearities led to vastly increased broadband capacity in the world’s communications networks.
Gabriele Falciasecca, Giovanni E. Corazza - Introduction
David Payne - Problems Solved and Unsolved Problems in Photonics
Herwig Kogelnik - Perspectives on Optical Communications
James Massey - Marconi, Shannon and Conventional Wisdom
Claude Berrou - Coding and Brain
James Flanagan - Parametric Representation of Speech Signals
John Cioffi - What would Marconi have thought about DSL?
Yash Pal - Keeping alive the spirit for which Gioia Marconi Braga honoured me 29 years ago
Romano Volta - A world hearing itself: An Italian midsummer night’s dream
Eric Ash - Saving the Planet: ICT and Coal
Federico Faggin - Birth and Evolution of the Microprocessor
Andrew Viterbi - Foundations of the Digital Wireless World
Andrew Chraplyvy - Optical communications - The Past
Robert Tkach - Optical communications - The Future

The future of Information and Communication Technology
Andrew Chraplyvy, David Forney, Bob Lucky, Robert Tkach, Andrew Viterbi




museomarconi logo

© 2013 - Fondazione Guglielmo Marconi - Villa Griffone - via Celestini 1 - 40037 Pontecchio Marconi (BO) - C.F 80063250379

We use cookies to make sure you can have the best experience on our website. Continuing in the navigation, you agree to our cookies policy.