English (UK)Italian (IT)

Marconi Museum

visits: Sunday at 10 am
working days on reservation
info visits



gmblogo b

The latest electromagnetic field prediction models in various propagation environments (urban, rural, indoor) are implemented in a set of software programs: the Italian national model (‘Modello Nazionale’) for long-distance propagation, 3-dimensional Ray-tracing for indoor coverage prediction and 2-dimensional Ray-tracing combined with the roof-top propagation model for urban environment prediction.

These programs are constantly updated, extended and adapted to specific applications. In particular, developments are currently in progress concerning ray-tracing modules, advanced statistical models and scattering models.

Developments of the Italian national model (‘Modello Nazionale’) so it can be extended to the third generation system, UMTS, are also presently being defined. Also the problems linked to data acquisition and relative processing for optimising use of prediction software are of great importance.




















The Guglielmo Marconi Foundation promotes and participates in the formation of national and international awards, to perpetuate the memory and knowledge of the great scientist, and support research and innovation in the field of radio communications.


I thank Mr. Hildebrand for the very kind but too flattering remarks that he has made of myself and of my work in Wireless Telegraphy.
I believe that one perhaps of the least thought of advantages enjoyed by the winner of the Nobel Prize is that he is asked to visit Sweden and thereby given an opportunity of appreciating the illustrious count of Linné, Schéele, Berzelius, and Arrhenius.
Thanks to the high standing which science has for so long attain and to the impartiality of the Nobel Prize Committee, the Nobel Prize for Physics is rightly considered everywhere as the highest reward within the reach of workers in that branch of Natural Philosophy.

[from the Guglielmo Marconi's speech at the Nobel Banquet in Stockholm, December 10, 1909]




















The International Prize for Painting, Sculpture and Electronic Art “Guglielmo Marconi” was instituted in 1988 by the Guglielmo Marconi Foundation, the Circolo Artistico of Bologna and the University of Bologna.

The Prize is assigned each year on April 25th, in conjunction with the Marconi Day that is celebrated in the historical Villa Giffone in Pontecchio Marconi, in the presence of renowned personalities from the telecommunication, scientific and artistic sectors.

The Prize was awarded in the first editions by the Marquise Maria Cristina Marconi, widow of the illustrious Scientist and, successively by the daughter, the Princess Elettra Marconi.


The Prize has been assigned to:

1988  Max Bill
1992  Bruno Munari
1993  Lucio Saffaro
1994  Concetto Pozzati
1995  Pirro Cuniberti
1996  Francesco Martani
1997  Luigi Veronesi
1998  Luciano Minguzzi
1999  Emilio Tadini per la Pittura e Mirta Carroli per la Scultura
2000  Giò Pomodoro per la Scultura, Nino Migliori per le Sperimentazioni e Immagini, Mario Nanni per la Pittura, Elio Nanni per la Fotografia, Luciano Menetti per la Nuova Scrittura, Nicola Evangelisti per le Nuove Generazioni
2001  Pompilio Mandelli
2002  Gillo Dorfles per la Pittura, Raimondo Rimondi per la Scultura, Marco Cardini e Leonello Tarabella per l’Arte Elettronica
2003  Salvatore Scarpitta per la Pittura e Pietro Cascella per la Scultura
2004  Eugenio Carmi per la Pittura, Bruno Raspanti per la Scultura, Luciano Giaccari per l’Arte Elettronica
2005  Tullio Pericoli per la Pittura, Germano Sartelli per la Scultura, Filippo Centenari per l’Arte Elettronica, Mauro Mazzali per la Didattica della Comunicazione
2006  Emilio Vedova per la Pittura, Arnaldo Pomodoro per la Scultura, Silvio Canini per l’Arte Elettronica
2007  Sergio Vacchi per la Pittura, Alessia de Montis per l'Arte Elettronica, Sibylle Geiger per l'Arte e il Teatro
2008  Marcello Jori per la Pittura, Giuseppe Maraniello per la Scultura, Mattia Ruggeri per l’Arte Elettronica  
2009  Giovanni Pintori per la Pittura, Flavio Favelli per la Scultura, Maurizio Osti per l’Arte Elettronica  
2010  Vasco Bendini per la Pittura, Vittorio Mascalchi per la Scultura, Franco Savignano per l’Arte Multimediale, Pietro Mussini per l’Arte Elettronica  
2011  Wolfango  
2012  Maurizio Cattelan  



© 2013 - Fondazione Guglielmo Marconi - Villa Griffone - via Celestini 1 - 40037 Pontecchio Marconi (BO) - C.F 80063250379

We use cookies to make sure you can have the best experience on our website. Continuing in the navigation, you agree to our cookies policy.